ARE YOU REALLY SEEING OR JUST LOOKING? Part 5 of Making Movies Yourself!

When CBS asked me to do a story about the Eiffel Tower my first reaction was “what IS the story?” It’s there, it’s a symbol, first thing I wanted to see when I first came to Paris etc etc. so what? That’s not a story. I thought about doing a day in the life of … the engineers arrive, the tourists line up, the first tickets are torn, the elevators rise, the guys who maintain the … where’s this going? also stories like that take quite a while to shoot; in order to capture “a day” you’re more likely to shoot for a week and I didn’t have that kind of time.

Then I realised I was overlooking the most obvious part of the story and knew exactly what the beginning, middle and end had too be. Watch the story – M. Eiffel’s Tower and see what I mean. The lesson here is: when you pick up a camera DON’T CENSOR YOURSELF!

One response to “ARE YOU REALLY SEEING OR JUST LOOKING? Part 5 of Making Movies Yourself!

  1. I have yet to go UP in the Eiffel Tower 😦
    Where’s the video..?
    You must have gone up I take it..
    I wanna see this! Will it give me courage…perhaps I can live vicariously through your experience πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

