THE ENEMY

As senior Pentagon officals are now being quoted as saying military action against Iran is “inevitable” I thought it’s a good time to post a story I did in 1996. The Iran I saw is a lot different than the one Washington would like to portray. Granted it was a different government there, a different agenda here, but I don’t think the human spirit has changed much. Here’s Part 1 of the story I did for NIGHTLINE.

One response to “THE ENEMY

  1. “As senior Pentagon officals are now being quoted as saying military action against Iran is “inevitable””

    Oh sighsighsighsighsigh.

    Interesting to see this piece 14 years later with everything that’s happened in the interim.

    I was a very little kid in the early 70s in Madison, WI, and my parents had a bunch of Iranian friends that my dad knew from the Engineering Department at the U of Wisc. I loved hanging out with these friends, who were warm and gracious people. That experience, some university studies in the Middle East, and reading books like Reading Lolita in Teheran makes me understand that demonizing a people group based on their leadership is just ass backwards. Yeah, this is right on: “Granted it was a different government there, a different agenda here, but I don’t think the human spirit has changed much.”

Leave a Reply

