FIRST CHALLENGE filmmaking begins with editing

 

 

CAN YOU TAKE AN ENTIRE FILM AND REDUCE IT TO SIX IMAGES???

Perhaps when the film is as iconic as PSYCHO.

So could you shoot a dozen or twenty images of your day — a ride on the metro – an open air

market – and reduce them to four images which could communicate what happened???

That’s our first exercise.

What do you need to tell the story???

 

2 responses to “FIRST CHALLENGE filmmaking begins with editing

  1. Sure, why not?
    Every blog post I do is a storyboard of sorts with a beginning-middle-end/resolution.
    ex.
    http://parisbreakfasts.blogspot.com/2010/07/birds-of-paris.html

  2. This is such good advice for me. One of my weaknesses as a writer is self-editing (lol, as anyone who has read one of my 3000+ word blog posts will attest). Granted, more words sometimes are necessary to really fill in the story, but it is also vitally true that the story should have a spare but sturdy skeleton upon which to build. Thanks for this clear and concise example!

    (BTW, my maiden name is “Bates” and I never heard the end of it with this movie and comments like “Is Norman your dad?” I wish I had thought to say, “Thanks for relating me to such an iconic picture.”)

Leave a Reply

